The celebration event organized to mark the 50th anniversary of the Coconut Cultivation Board was held at the premises of the Coconut Cultivation Board located at the Denzil Kobbekaduwa Mawatha, Koswatta, Battaramulla on 30.03.2022 with the participation of (Dr.) Ramesh Pathirana, the Minister of Plantation and Mr. Arundika Fernando, the State Minister.

The Coconut Cultivation Board was established during the United Front Governance with the leadership of the former Prime Minister, Mrs. Sirimavo R.D. Bandaranaike and Dr. Colvin R. de Silva who had been the first Minister of Industries, took the initiative for this purpose.

Coconut plants were also distributed among cultivators in the area in view of further promoting coconut cultivation.

This occasion was hosted by Mr. Ravindra Hewavitharana, Secretary, Ministry of Plantation, Mr. Tissa Hewavithana, the Secretary to the State Ministry and some other officers.